Press Releases

2021 Annual SBAS Awards

Each year SBAS recognizes excellence among its student and resident presenters at its annual meeting. Two awards are presented: the Onye Emmanuel Akwari, MD Award is presented to students and the Claude H. Organ, Jr., MD Award is presented to residents.


Starting in 2021 and continuing annually, the Onye Emmanuel Akwari, MD award will recognize excellence in medical students presenting at the annual meeting.

First Place
Identifying Modifiable Variables to Increase Underrepresented Minority Students' Admission to Medical School

Ijezie Ikwuezunma
University of Chicago


Claude H. Organ, Jr., MD Resident Award recognizes excellence in residents presenting at the annual meeting.

First Place
Establishing an Orthotopic Xenograft Murine Model for Desmoplastic Small Round Cell Tumor

Alyssa E. Peace, MD
University of North Carolina

First Place
Mucin-4 Antibody Conjugated to a Near-Infrared Fluorophore Selectively Targets Colon Cancer in Primary and Liver Metastatic Patient Derived Orthotopic Xenograft Mouse Models

Michael A. Turner, MD
University of California San Diego

Second Place
National Trends in Distribution of Underrepresented Minorities within United States General Surgery Residency Programs

Brittany Carter, MD
Baylor University Medical Center

Second Place
Increased risk of post-operative mortality with obesity, age, male sex  among COVID-19 surgical patients

Connie Shao, MD 
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Third Place
Early Results of a Perioperative Enhanced Recovery After Esophagectomy Nutrition and Immunonutrition Protocol

Elise Hill, MD
UC Davis Medical Center


« Return to Press Releases